All deer and turkey hunters, including landowners, must have valid deer and/or turkey hunting permits. Resident landowners who meet the qualifications may obtain the no-cost resident landowner permits listed below.
Do I qualify for a landowner permit?
Take this quick quiz to see if you can get no-cost resident landowner permits.
If you meet one of the conditions below, you can get no-cost resident landowner permits.
- You must own at least five acres of land in one contiguous tract.
- You must be a member of the landowner’s immediate household and have the same legal residence as the landowner for at least the last 30 days.
- You must be a general partner of a resident limited liability partnership, limited partnership, or limited liability limited partnership, or a general partner of a general partnership formed by written agreement and the partnership must own at least five contigu-ous acres of land.
- You must be an officer of a resident or foreign corporation and the corporation must own at least five contiguous acres of land.
- You must be a managing member of a resident lim-ited liability company and the company must own at least five contiguous acres of land.
- You must be an officer of a benevolent association organized pursuant to Chapter 352 of the Revised Statutes of Missouri and the association must own at least five contiguous acres of land.
Immediate household member is defined as anyone, related or unrelated, whose legal residence is the same as the qualifying landowner for at least the last 30 days. Family members whose legal residence is elsewhere do not qualify.
Which permits can I get?
Qualifying resident landowners who have at least 5 acres, and all members of their immediate household age 6 or older, may each receive:
- One Resident Landowner Spring Turkey Hunting Permit
- One Resident Landowner Fall Firearms Turkey Hunting Permit
- One Resident Landowner Firearms Any-Deer Hunting Permit
- One Resident Landowner Archer’s Hunting Permit
- Two Resident Landowner Archery Antlerless Deer Hunting Permits depending upon county availability
Qualifying resident landowners who have 75 or more acres located in a single county or at least 75 continuous acres bisected by a county boundary, and all members of their immediate household age 6 or older, may each receive:
- All of the landowner permits listed above
- Resident Landowner Firearms Antlerless Deer Hunting Permits depending upon county availability
Landowners may receive one Resident Landowner Firearms Antlerless Deer Hunting Permit in the following counties: Andrew, Atchison, Butler, Carter, Dent, Douglas, Dunklin, Holt, Iron, Maries, Mississippi, New Madrid, Newton, Nodaway, Pemiscot, Phelps, Reynolds, Scott, Stoddard, Texas, Wayne, Wright.
Landowners may receive two Resident Landowner Firearms Antlerless Deer Hunting Permits in all other counties.
What do I need to apply?
- Your Conservation number, Social Security number, or driver’s license number
- The county or counties where your land is located
- The number of acres you own and reside on
Note: Landowners may be required to submit proof of ownership if it cannot be verified through county plat books.
How do I obtain Landowner Permits?
You may obtain your no-cost resident landowner permits using any of the methods below.
- Over the counter from any permit vendor. Go early to avoid long lines. No surcharges will be assessed.
- Online anytime. Print your permit at home and have it in hand immediately.
- From your smartphone using the MO Hunting app. Your permit will appear on the app immediately after purchase.
- By telephone at 800-392-4115. Use your credit card and pay a $1 surcharge. Allow 10 days for delivery.
Are there special rules for landowners?
- Must abide by season dates, methods, limits, and tagging/checking requirements.
- Must use landowner permits only on their qualifying property. To hunt on other land, landowners must purchase regular permits.
- Must be at least 6 years old to obtain landowner permits.
- May use their landowner permits to take deer on their land during archery deer season and all portions of the firearms season including the urban zones and antlerless portions (if their property is located in one of the open areas).
- With 75 or more acres in more than one county must comply with landowner antlerless deer limits for each county.
- May fill Resident Landowner Archery and/or Firearms Any-Deer permits and purchased permits. However, each hunter may take only two antlered deer during the archery and firearms deer hunting seasons combined and only one antlered deer during firearms season. For example, landowners who take an antlered deer on one firearms any-deer permit must take an antlerless deer on the other firearms any-deer permit. Deer taken on a managed deer hunting permit do not count toward this limit.
- May fill their no-cost landowner antlerless permits and also purchase and fill additional antlerless permits according to county limits.