Who can receive landowner permits?
All deer and turkey hunters, including landowners, must have valid deer and/or turkey hunting permits. Landowners who meet the qualifications may obtain the no-cost, or reduced-cost, landowner permits after submitting their property using the Landowner Permit Application.
Do I qualify for a landowner permit?
Take this quick quiz to see if you are eligible to receive landowner permits.
You must be resident of Missouri who does not claim any resident privileges (e.g. hunting, fishing, trapping, driver’s license, registered voter, etc.) in another state or country; and whose legal residence or domicile have been in the state of Missouri for at least 30 days prior to obtaining a landowner permit.
If you meet one of the conditions below, you are eligible to receive no-cost resident landowner permits.
"Contiguous" is defined as acreage apart of a larger single tract of land touching along a boundary or at a point, including acreage bisected by a public roadway, county boundary, or public right-of-way.
"Domicile" is defined as the place where a person has his/her true, fixed, and permanent home and principal establishment and to which whenever s/he is absent s/he has the intention of returning. It is his/her legal residence, as distinguished from his/her temporary place or abode; or his/her home, as distinguished from a place to which business or pleasure may temporarily call him/her.
An immediate household member is anyone, related or unrelated, whose legal residence is the same as the qualifying resident landowner for at least the last 30 days. Family members whose legal residence is elsewhere do not qualify.
- You must own at least 20 contiguous acres of land.
- You must be an immediate household member of a resident landowner who owns at least 20 contiguous acres of land.
- You must be a general partner of a resident limited liability partnership, limited partnership, or limited liability limited partnership, or a general partner of a general partnership formed by written agreement and the partnership must own at least 20 contiguous acres of land.
- You must be an officer of a resident or foreign corporation and the corporation must own at least 20 contiguous acres of land.
- You must be a managing member of a resident limited liability company and the company must own at least 20 contiguous acres of land.
- You must be an officer of a benevolent association organized pursuant to Chapter 352 of the Revised Statutes of Missouri and the association must own at least 20 contiguous acres of land.
- You must be an immediate household member of general partner of a partnership, an officer of a resident or foreign corporation, an officer or managing member of a resident limited liability company, or an officer of a benevolent association organized pursuant to Chapter 352 of the Revised Statutes of Missouri when the before mentioned organization owns at least 20 contiguous acres of land.
If you meet one of the conditions below, you are eligible to receive reduced-cost nonresident landowner permits.
Which Permits Can I Get?
Qualifying landowners who have at least 20 acres for residents, or 75 contiguous acres for nonresidents, and all immediate household members age 6 or older, are eligible for:
- One Resident Landowner Spring Turkey Hunting Permit (incl. 2 turkey permits)
- One Resident Landowner Fall Firearms Turkey Hunting Permit (incl. 2 turkey permits)
- One Resident Landowner Firearms Any-Deer Hunting Permit (incl. 1 firearms any-deer permit)
- One Resident Landowner Archer’s Hunting Permit (incl. 2 archery any-deer permits and 2 archery turkey permits)
- Two Resident Landowner Archery Antlerless Deer Hunting Permits (depending on county availability)
- One Nonresident Landowner Spring Turkey Hunting Permit (incl. 2 turkey permits)
- One Nonresident Landowner Fall Firearms Turkey Hunting Permit (incl. 2 turkey permits)
- One Nonresident Landowner Firearms Any-Deer Hunting Permit (incl. 1 firearms any-deer permit)
- One Nonresident Landowner Archer’s Hunting Permit (incl. 2 archery any-deer permits and 2 archery turkey permits)
Qualifying resident landowners who have 75 or more acres located in a single county or at least 75-contiguous acres bisected by a county boundary, and all members of their household age 6 or older, may receive:
- All of the resident landowner permits listed above
- Resident Landowner Firearms Antlerless Deer Hunting Permits depending on county availability as provided below.
Landowners may receive one Resident Landowner Firearms Antlerless Deer Hunting Permit in the following counties: Andrew, Atchison, Butler, Carter, Dent, Douglas, Dunklin, Holt, Iron, Maries, Mississippi, New Madrid, Newton, Nodaway, Pemiscot, Phelps, Reynolds, Scott, Stoddard, Texas, Wayne, Wright.
Landowners may receive two Resident Landowner Firearms Antlerless Deer Hunting Permits in all other counties.
What Do I Need To Obtain Landowner Permits?
To be eligible for landowner permits, you must submit your property using the Landowner Permit Application before attempting to obtain your landowner permits. To submit your property information using the Landowner Permit Application, you will need the following information.
* Indicates information required to complete the Landowner Permit Application.
- *Your Conservation number and date of birth
- *The county or counties where your land is located
- *The number of acres you own in each county
- *One parcel number from the property you own in each county. Examples of where to locate this information are provided below.
- *Identify the type of landowner you are
- *For resident corporate entities, you will need to identify the name of the corporate entity the property is assigned to.
- Optional: Township, Range and Section information for your property
Note: Landowners may be required to submit proof of ownership if it cannot be verified through county plat books.
After submitting your property using the Landowner Permit Application you are eligible to obtain your landowner permits using the following information.
- *Your Conservation number, Social Security Number, or driver’s license number
How Do I Obtain Landowner Permits?
After completing the Landowner Permit Application, you may obtain your resident landowner permits using any of the methods below.
- From the MO Hunting App by clicking “Buy Permits”
- By telephone at 1-800-392-4115. Use your credit/debit card and pay a $1 surcharge. Allow 10 days for the delivery of your permits.
- Over the counter from any permit vendor. Go early to avoid long lines. No surcharges will be assessed.
Are There Special Rules For Landowners?
- Must abide by season dates, methods, limits, and tagging/checking requirements.
- Must use landowner permits only on their qualifying property. To hunt on other land, landowners must purchase regular permits.
- Must be at least 6 years old to obtain landowner permits.
- May use their landowner permits to take deer on their land during archery deer season and all portions of the firearms season including the urban zones and antlerless portions (if their property is located in one of the open areas).
- Resident landowner with 75 or more acres in more than one county must comply with landowner antlerless deer limits for each county.
- May fill Landowner Archery and/or Landowner Firearms Any-Deer permits and purchased permits. However, each hunter may take only two antlered deer during the archery and firearms deer hunting seasons combined and only one antlered deer during firearms season. For example, landowners who take an antlered deer on one firearms any-deer permit must take an antlerless deer on the other firearms any-deer permit. Deer taken on a managed deer hunting permit do not count toward this limit.
- May fill their no-cost landowner antlerless permits and also purchase and fill additional antlerless permits according to county limits.