Blue Ribbon Trout Slam

Missouri’s Blue Ribbon Trout Areas provide excellent trout habitat that supports naturally reproducing trout. These trout are wary of predators and provide anglers with a challenging and authentic experience.

MDC and Trout Unlimited invite you to go out and test your skills against these trout in the riffles and pools of Missouri’s nine Blue Ribbon trout streams.

The Missouri Blue Ribbon Trout Slam honors anglers who can catch a trout in at least 5 of these 9 streams. Catch a trout in more than 5 Blue Ribbon streams and your level of achievement goes up. Participants who choose to, can have their successes listed on the MDC website.

Here’s how the Trout Slam works:

Missouri’s Blue Ribbon Trout Slam has been divided into three levels of accomplishment.


  • Catch a trout from 5 of the 9 Blue Ribbon Trout Areas.
  • Award – certificate and bronze pin.


  • Catch a trout from 7 of the 9 Blue Ribbon Trout Areas.
  • Award – certificate and silver pin.


  • Catch a trout from all 9 Blue Ribbon Trout Areas.
  • Award – certificate, gold pin, and medallion.

Trout of any size caught after January 1, 2020 will qualify for a Blue Ribbon Trout Slam, but trout under 18 inches must be released.

Safeguard landowner goodwill. Never trespass, and always ask permission before floating or wading through private property. Only enter streams at public accesses or with landowner permission.

Enter your catch



  • Zach Althaus, St. Louis
  • Mark Bauman, Kansas City
  • James Bolin, Joplin
  • Ben Burris, Rolla
  • Jacob Canfield, Republic
  • Nathanael Coffman, St. James
  • Garner Cummins, Webb City
  • Jason Cummins, Webb City
  • Nicholas Davidson, Manchester
  • Austin Ferraiuolo, Independence
  • Cameron Gonzales, Springfield
  • Rik Hafer, Kirkwood
  • Kelly Hinson, Saint Clair
  • Tony Hinson, Saint Clair
  • John Holler, Saint Robert
  • Tom Lagermann, St. Louis
  • Shayne Manetzke, Eureka
  • Jim Owens, House Springs
  • Jaydon Payment, O'Fallon
  • Boot Pierce, Sullivan
  • Jonathan Rinehart, Arnold
  • Vance Schneider, Kansas City
  • Mark Zettler, St. Charles


  • Joseph Alvarez, Rolla
  • Daniel Bauman, Kansas City
  • Zach Caselman, Battlefield
  • Cameron Courtwright, Warrensburg
  • Kevin Courtwright, Warrensburg
  • Trenton Courtwright, Warrensburg
  • Michael Frieden, Rolla
  • Mike Kidd, High Ridge
  • Jamie Lamkin, Poplar Bluff
  • Billy McCaslin, Fenton
  • Sam Potter, Rolla
  • Jason Rudolph, St. Peters
  • James Schumer, Columbia
  • Devan Scroggins, Cassville
  • Christopher Selle, Kansas City
  • Doug Steinhoff, Columbia
  • Dennis Voss, Union
  • Mathew Wortmann, O'Fallon


  • Paul Eggeman, Columbia
  • James Gamache, Rolla
  • Frederick Kossman, St. Louis
  • Michael Kossman, Imperial
  • Mike Kruse, Columbia
  • Mario Lozina, Fenton
  • Jeremy Patterson, Kansas City
  • Adam Prier, Golden
  • Derek Schlotzhauer, Harrisonville

Trout Slam Brag Board

To share your photo:

  • Fish should be photographed while still in the water to minimize the amount of time it is exposed to the air. Follow fish handling and release guidelines.
  • Post your image to your Instagram or Twitter account
  • Tag your photo with #MoTroutSlam
  • Be sure your post can be viewed by the public

Photo Stream

In This Section

Did you catch a trout at a Missouri Blue Ribbon Trout Stream? Enter your catch here.